Urban life paintings

 

Luc Imsand is a painter of town life.  He paints the town as a stage of life, he paints the people that inhabit it.  The town appears as a cosmos of places, spaces and relationships, which fire people with energy while in return assuming their dreams, actions and desires. Imsand represents what he sees around himself, he is a chronicler of and participant in urban life.  He frequently travels to Asia and South America, he meets Nature, but does not paint it.  With a new outlook, he returns to the town that he happens to be living in, be it Glasgow, Lausanne, or wherever.  The town is his topic, this is where life is constantly evolving, where threat and destruction hold sway, this is where, as in a burning mirror, the forces will constantly be released, which determine Western society.

But Imsand does not regard the town as some sort of modern paradise, his pictures show the numerous forms of addiction found - alcohol, drugs, wealth, TV, computer, sex.  This addiction is merely the expression of a longing for life.  One gets drunk in a bar alone (Alone and drinking), or shoots up alone in a toilet (Toxicomanie), or watches television (TV Foot) or sits up at the computer (Computer all night).  Night life is in full swing outside the window, but that is of no interest as compared to the virtual world provided by the computer.  Others seek their satisfaction in wealth and its symbols.  The young woman dressed in black stands demandingly beside a luxury sedan (She wanted everything).

Imsand represents the town, because he wants to show people.  We frequently find them in hotel rooms, bars, in changing interiors and rows of buildings, in railway stations or public squares, alone or in groups.  But being together in the same place still does not constitute a meeting or a contact, so while being together with other people in a town, one can still often be alone.  In the painting, Night Away, someone is sitting at the piano, someone else at a table, a third is behind the bar and a woman, stripped to her undies, occupies the middle of the room.  But there is no erotic tension for all that, not even any kind of communication, each character remains alone with him or herself.  The figures appear small given the space that separates them.  Even where a relationship is suggested (Business or affair), it remains a moot point as to where things are heading – business or an affair?  Even body contact (Difference) hints rather at a search for proximity, at an interplay of the sexes, of availability, but it stops short of bridging the difference.

Boredom reigns as one observes how time passes (Watching the times go by) or tries to escape the town by taking a train – any train – at the station (Leaving) – possibly only to end up in some other town?  What could the purpose be?  Does one have to change something, for life to go on, is it worth fighting (Marcha por la vida)?  What goals and ideals, what rights drive or defend the little column of demonstrators, lost in the great expanse of the town?

Luc Imsand does not provide answers to these questions, he makes no moral judgement, he merely observes.  He transforms his experiences into light, fluid paintings, which draw on stark colour contrasts and need no large formats for their effect.  The clearly delimited colour surfaces separate people and things more than they connect them.  Even though the topic of town painting has a tradition in the history of art, to which Imsand also belongs, any comparisons are nevertheless misleading.  For example, Imsand has nothing to do with the “dynamising” and “demonising” of the town in Expressionism, the claustrophobic interiors of Munch, the formal hardness of the new Materialism, the world-stage symbolism of Beckmann or the melancholia of Hopper.  Nevertheless, what Imsand has in common with these artists is the fascination the town holds for him.  Perhaps we can imagine our modern life only as an urban life that, marked by the rhythm and the energy of the town, by its places and spaces, eggs us on to constant mobility.  The countryside is no longer our terrain as we, the modern nomads, inhabit the town and its nights.

Volker Adolphs

Curator & chief of exhibitions of the Kunst Museum of Bonn





 
Back to writingWriting.html
Back to topWriting.htmlshapeimage_3_link_0

Peintures de vies urbaines

 

Luc Imsand est un peintre de la ville; il la peint sous la forme d’une scène où s’active la vie; il peint les hommes et les femmes qui l’habitent. La ville apparaît comme un cosmos de lieux, d’espaces et d’interrelations, qui insufflent leurs énergies à l’homme, tout en se chargeant à leur tour de ses rêves, ses actes, ses doutes. Imsand représente ce qu’il voit autour de lui, à la fois chroniqueur et acteur de la vie urbaine. Il fait de fréquents voyages en Asie ou en Amérique du Sud. Où il va à la rencontre de la nature mais sans la peindre. Et chaque fois qu’il revient dans une ville, que ce soit Glasgow, Lausanne ou une autre, il la voit d’un regard neuf. La ville est son sujet de prédilection; ici, la vie est en perpétuel changement; ici, on vous menace ou vous détruit; ici, des forces incontrôlables s’échappent d’un miroir ardent, qui déterminent la société occidentale.

Imsand n’a jamais tenu la ville pour un paradis moderne. Ses tableaux illustrent les innombrables formes que peut revêtir la quête de soi: alcool, drogues, fortune, télévision, ordinateur, sexe… Une quête qui n’est que l’expression d’un certain mal de vivre. Seul, on se soûle dans un bar (Alone and Drinking); seul, on se fait un fix dans les toilettes (Toxicomanie), regarde la télé (TV Foot) ou pianote sur son ordinateur (Computer all night). Derrière la vitre, grouille la vie nocturne, mais c’est sans intérêt face au monde virtuel que l’écran vous restitue. D’aucuns recherchent leur plaisir dans l’argent et ses symboles. Une jeune femme en noir au regard avide se tient debout à côté d’une luxueuse limousine (She wanted everything).

Imsand peint la ville, mais c’est l’Homme qu’il veut montrer. Et cet homme, nous le croisons dans des chambres d’hôtel, des bars, des intérieurs, qui varient au gré de ses humeurs. Et aussi parmi les passants, dans les gares et sur les places – seul ou accompagné. Mais le fait de ne pas être seul n’est nullement synonyme de rencontre, de contact; mais au cœur de la ville, on se sent souvent très solitaire même en nombreuse compagnie. Sur la toile intitulée Night Away, il a quelqu’un au piano, quelqu’un d’autre est assis à une table et un autre se tient derrière le bar. Une femme, vêtue de sa seule lingerie, occupe le centre de la pièce. Mais aucun érotisme ne se dégage de ce tableau, ni aucune sorte de communication, chacun reste muré dans sa solitude. Et les personnages semblent petits par rapport à l’espace qu’ils quadrillent. Même là où l’on pourrait subodorer une relation (Business or affair), l’on reste à se demander s’il s’agit là d’une affaire d’argent ou d’une affaire de cœur? Quant aux contacts physiques (Difference), ils parlent plutôt de recherche de proximité que de jeu sexuel, de vénalité. La différence persiste.

L’air de s’ennuyer, on regarde le temps filer ou défiler (Watchirng the times goes by), ou l‘on tente de quitter la ville en sautant dans le premier train qui passe (Leaving) – pour se retrouver, qui sait, dans une autre mégapole? Quel est le but visé, en l’occurrence? Changer quelque chose, marcher pour la vie (Marcha por la vida), vaut-il la peine de se battre? Quels objectifs ou quels idéaux, quels droits revendique ce maigre cortège de manifestants perdu dans l’immensité de la ville?

Luc Imsand ne fournit aucune réponse à ces questions; il n’a rien d’un moraliste; il observe. Ses expériences, il les transcrit en une peinture fluide, aérienne, qui se sert de contrastes de couleur, et n’a nul besoin de grands formats pour exprimer toute sa force, sa puissance. Clairement délimitées, des surfaces colorées divisent les hommes plutôt que de les rapprocher. Et même si, en histoire de l’art, le thème de la ville relève d’une tradition dont Imsand se réclame, toute comparaison ne pourrait que nous induire en erreur. Imsand n’a rien à voir, par exemple, avec la dynamisation et la démonisation de la ville chères aux expressionnistes, les intérieurs claustrophobes de Munch, la dureté formelle du néo-réalisme, la symbolique universelle d’un Beckmann ou la mélancolie de Hopper. Et, pourtant, Imsand est relié à ces peintres par la fascination que la ville exerce sur eux. Mais peut-être que, pour nous, seule la vie urbaine est la vraie vie. Une vie qui s’imprègne du rythme et de l’énergie de la ville, de ses lieux et de ses espaces, qui nous poussent à une mobilité sans fin. La campagne n’est plus notre terrain de jeu; nomades modernes, nous avons colonisé la ville et ses nuits!

Volker Adolphs

Conservateur et directeur des expositions au

Kunst Museum de Bonnn




 
Retour à writingWriting.html